Vale, time for my first Spanish learning post!

I’m off to Spain next week so I thought I’d better brush up on the minefield that is Spanish cuisine. I’ve put together a list of food related vocabulary and phrases that I aim to learn before my trip. Over the next few days I’ll be posting some of this vocabulary focusing on a different area of Spanish food in each post. Today I’ll start with something that Spain is particularly famous for: seafood.

Mariscos

  • almejas – clams
  • anchoas – anchovies
  • anguilla – eel
  • bacalao – cod
  • caballa – mackerel
  • calamares – squid
  • cangrejo – crab
  • cigala – crayfish
  • langosta – lobster
  • mejillones – mussels
  • merluza – hake
  • ostras – oysters
  • pulpo – octopus
  • rape – monkfist
  • raya – skate
  • sardinas – sardines
  • trucha – trout

Can you think of any more? Leave a comment and let me know.

Hasta prontito.

